Women's and Children's Hospital, Adelaide
New Women’s and Children’s Hospital Taskforce

New Women's and Children's Hospital Taskforce

nWCH Taskforce Terms of Reference

The South Australian Government has established a high-level Taskforce to drive the co-location of a new Women's and Children's Hospital (WCH) with the Royal Adelaide Hospital (RAH).

Jim Birch, a former Chief Executive Officer of the Women's and Children's Hospital and the SA Health Department has been appointed to lead the Taskforce, which will guide the planning for a new Women's and Children's Hospital to be co-located with the RAH.

The Taskforce will develop a fully costed plan to build a new Women's and Children's Hospital (WCH) to be co-located with the new Royal Adelaide Hospital (RAH), with the aim to complete the project by 2024.

It will identify the capital cost of the project, service specification (including bed numbers), the overall size of the new facility and the state-wide models of care needed to support the hospital’s day-to-day operation. It is expected that the Taskforce will complete these activities by the end of 2018.

The WCH Taskforce includes a range of clinicians and representatives from medical, nursing and allied health disciplines and paediatric, surgical, obstetrics and gynaecology specialities.

The new WCH Taskforce membership includes:

Mr Jim Birch – Chair

Dr Cindy Molloy – WCHN Executive Director Medical Services, Divisional Director Surgical services, Paediatric Neurosurgeon

Dr Steve Scroggs – WCHN Divisional Director Women's and Babies, Specialist Obstetrician and Gynaecologist

Dr James Rice – WCHN Paediatric rehabilitation, Allied, Health, Deputy Executive Director Medical Services

Ms Tracy Carroll – WCHN Nursing & Midwifery – Acting Divisional Director Women's and Babies, Divisional Director Paediatric Surgical Services

Ms Meredith Hobbs – Co-Director - Women’s and Children’s Division, Northern Adelaide Local Health Network

Dr Tina Jones – Nursing Co-Director, Critical Care, Central Adelaide Local Health Network

Dr Diana Lawrence – Senior Consultant Paediatrician, Clinical Director of the Women's and Children's Division and Interim Executive Director of Medical services, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network

Ms Verity Paterson – Executive Director, Allied Health & Community (Social Work), Country Health SALHN

Ms Lindsey Gough – WCHN Chief Executive Officer

Ms Lynne Cowan – SA Health Deputy Chief Executive

Mr Brendan Hewitt – SA Health Executive Director of Infrastructure

Mr Sandy Burness – Department of Treasury and Finance

Mr Matthew Hunt – Renewal SA

Mr Simon Morony – Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure

Extensive consultation and strong engagement with our clinicians, consumers, community and partners will be central to the planning process for the new hospital.

PDF iconNew WCH Taskforce Terms of Reference  (104kb)

last modified: 28 Jun 2018